BC Achievement Foundation Announces – 2016 Aboriginal Award Winners

2016 BC Aboriginal Business Awardees Announced

September 9, 2016

VANCOUVER – The awardees of eighth annual BC Aboriginal Business Awards were announced today by Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation, the presenting organization of the awards.

The honourees will be celebrated at a gala dinner ceremony on October 19, 2016 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver where the Honourable John Rustad, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, will present the awards.

“Aboriginal entrepreneurship is vital to ensuring that all British Columbians benefit from our growing economy,” said Premier Christy Clark. “The awards shine a spotlight on the important and expanding role of Aboriginal business in BC while showcasing successful Aboriginal entrepreneurs from across the province.”

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence. A total of 15 Aboriginal businesses, entrepreneurs, partnership entities and community-owned enterprises will be recognized at this year’s gala dinner.

“The 2016 awardees represent entrepreneurial excellence in diverse and unique industries within British Columbia including law, communications, resource management, construction, entertainment, esthetics, landscaping and retail,” added Keith Mitchell.

Members of the 2016 jury panel include Michelle Corfield, Glen Ohs and Judith Sayers. The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by the BC Achievement Foundation in partnership with the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, and generously supported by New Relationship Trust, TD, Teck, BC Hydro, CN, Encana, Spectra Energy and MNPllp.

The BC Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed in 2003 by the Province of British Columbia to celebrate community service, arts, humanities and enterprise.

2016 BC Aboriginal Business Awardees
Business of the Year – one-to-two person enterprise: Big Bear Services Wildlife Monitoring, Moberly Lake
Outstanding Achievement: 4TR Ventures Ltd., North Thompson

• Business of the Year – three-to-10 person enterprise: Callison & Hanna Law, Vancouver
Outstanding Achievement: Tim Tom Construction, Dawson Creek

• Business of the Year – 10 or more person enterprise: Getumdone Contracting Ltd., Houston
Outstanding Achievement: Tla’amin Convenience Store, Powell River

• Community-Owned Business of the Year – one entity: Tk’emlups Petro Canada/Carwash, Kamloops
Outstanding Achievement: Gitxsan Safety Services Inc., Hazleton
Outstanding Achievement: Rupert Lawn & Garden, Prince Rupert

• Community-Owned Business of the Year – two or more entities: Seyem’ Qwantlen Business Group, Fort Langley
Outstanding Achievement: Penticton Indian Band Development Corporation, Penticton

• Aboriginal – Industry Business Partnership of the Year: Tsi Del Del Enterprises Ltd., Chilanko Forks
• Aboriginal – Aboriginal Business Partnership of the Year: Northern Native Broadcasting (CFNR), Terrace

• Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Defy Hair and Esthetics, Kelowna
Outstanding Achievement: Alpha-Omega Productions, Kamloops

Detailed information about the awards and a list of past winners is posted on the foundation’s website at www.bcachievement.com/aboriginalbusiness.

Cathryn Wilson, Executive Director
BC Achievement Foundation
[email protected] | 604.261.9777

Comments are closed.